"To give yourself the best possible chance of playing to your potential, you must prepare for every eventuality."

- Seve Ballesteros
Picture
Not sure where to start with this week; not because I've done lots of amazing things, I'm just trying to figure out what it is I actually did, saw, heard, thought about etc. that might be worth expressing.

I think the first thing I'll get off the agenda, given that it's staring you right in the face (left) is another one of my TV discoveries of late (along with Bored To Death, which got a mention in the main feed recently). As you may have learnt while reading this blog, I have a tendency to be on a constant hunt for good TV programmes to keep me entertained in between going out, writing and working. The most recent show to be uncovered comes from David Crane (creator of Friends? You might have heard of it...) and Jeffrey Klarik. Combined with the comedy writing of Stephen Mangan and Tamsin Greig, they form the recipe for UK and US sitcom, Episodes, about a British couple who take their hit UK TV show to Hollywood to make an American version, which doesn't quite turn out the way they'd planned it. Mangan and Greig play the leads, with a little help from now-out-of-hiatus star, Matt LeBlanc, playing the lead in the US version of their show (this is all starting to sound a bit confusing if you can't grasp the context of it all). I watched the whole series pretty much back-to-back over two days. It takes two episodes to get into it, but once you've got past the flirting, it very much becomes a thing of infatuation. The writing is brilliant, with the constant clash of Americanisms and, erm, Britainisms (?) making it very funny indeed. If you aren't familiar with it, I highly advise you to become so, and quickly.

Moving on, to this week's events... I spent most of Monday recovering from the Sunday previous (the trip out to Jesmond & town for the lads' birthdays) which was one of the main things that sparked the discoveries of the above and Bored To Death.

The lethargy seemed to be carried on throughout Tuesday too, until the night time when I ended up running errands with Danny, doing last minute birthday shopping for his Dad. This trip ended up taking longer than it should have, which resulted in us missing the Barca/Real second leg, not that it mattered really as the end result was what we were expecting (Barca winning) after the first leg.

The highlight of Wednesday was a trip to the pictures (or the cinema for all non-northerners) to see Cedar Rapids, again with Danny. The film was really funny in some parts, but seemed to lack a constant flow throughout. It was

Picture
definitely better than going to see Insidious though, which just looks like every shitty horror film I've ever seen, about a possessed something-or-other, living in a house, trying to kill it's own family, blah, blah, blah.

The main thing I wanted to talk about was how much I enjoyed Friday and Saturday, going out for meals with both sides of my family (for those who aren't aware, my parents are seperated). It was so nice to be able to go out with both sides of the respective families and catch up/spend time with them all. Having not seen many of them for a few months, it was a really nice experience and, as is the case every time I come back from uni, I always feel like I appreciate my family a little bit more each time. Almost makes me a bit sad that it doesn't happen more often, but then I guess the novelty would wear off.

Anyway, let's not get all sentimental... beer, cars, boobies, football. Ok, I think I'm sorted. I am looking forward to going back to Bath though, given that I've been away for, what's nearly been, a month and I can't wait to see all my mates and catch up with them all. Feels like forever since me and the boys were in Spain on football tour, and as for my flatmates and everyone who wasn't on tour, it seems like even longer (if that's physically possible).

Here's to enjoying the vast amount of social groups I'm part of,  getting back to Bath and getting this last month of university finished so that I can have a well deserved break and enjoy it all a whole lot more!

Adios for now, amigos.

NB: Although admittedly I'd never really known much about him until his death (as is sadly the case with many of the world's finest human beings), I'd just like to achknowledge the loss of, and pay my respects to, Seve Ballesteros, who passed away yesterday after losing his battle with cancer at the age of 54.

THD. 




Leave a Reply.