"At four o'clock today I'm gonna punch you in your face."

- Mike Skinner

Today was a day full of what I can only really seem to summarise as 'misfires'.

Having hung up my boots for the 2nd team's Wednesday games, I was faced with temptation when my seminar (which I usually miss football for) had been called off. The usual lecture that we have before hand was still very much on, but there was a high chance that I could get away with missing it. However, I wanted to prove to myself that my university life came first & decided to attend the lecture instead of joining the boys on the bus to go to Southampton. 'Good for me', I thought to myself... couldn't have been more wrong.

The lecture I attended was pretty standard & definitely wasn't worth missing football for, with at least a good half of the lecture actually being a bit of a cop-out, as we were being asked to write poetry. All in all, the whole thing was a disappointment & I was left feeling like I was missing out on the football. Not the best start to the day. Made even worse later when I discovered that the lads got beat 4-1.

The rest of my day was spent trying to work on a script, which I wasn't having much luck with at all. My imagination seemed to deteriorate every time I tried to write something worth reading, which left me lacking in motivation, which inevitably fuelled the dreaded illness that all writer's fear - writer's block. I soldiered through it for as long as I could, but as I have come to learn from previous experience, it's better to quit before the brain aneurysm kicks in.

My sanity was partly rescued when I had the privalege of watching the Arsenal/Barca' match. Always promises good football for the neutral, but this one provided a great competition, with Arsenal coming back in the last 15 minutes from a goal down to win 2-1, with goals from Van Persie & second half super-sub Andrei Arshavin giving the Gunners lead into the second leg. First blood Arsenal, but will it be enough? Looking forward to round two at the Nou Camp.

THD.



Leave a Reply.